Marteau-Pilon

Carrefour du 8 Mai 1945 71200 LE CREUSOT

GPS 46.7867, 4.43295

Type : Historical sites and monuments

Theme : Industrial site

Nowadays, the Steam Hammer is the emblem of Le Creusot. The first steam hammer was invented in 1840 by engineer François Bourdon, who worked in Le Creusot for the Schneider Company. In 1876, the company created the most powerful instrument of this kind with its 100-ton hammer. Despite its size, it could be used for work of an extreme precision. Dismantled in 1930, it now stands as a monument on a squares, at the entrance of the town. It was listed as “Historic Mechanical Engineering Landmark” by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Prices

Information Min. Rate Max. Rate Further information
Gratuities

Look around and/or generate the route

km

Route calculation

Nearby suggestions

chateau_verrerie_01

Château de la Verrerie

A l'origine manufacture des Cristaux de la Reine Marie-Antoinette, le château de la Verrerie fut la résidence de la famille Schneider. Les anciens...
marteau_pilon_01

Marteau-Pilon

Monstre de puissance et emblème du Creusot, le marteau-pilon domine l’entrée de la ville du Creusot. C’est François Bourdon, ingénieur aux usines...
parc_des_combes_01

Parc des Combes

Le Parc Touristique des Combes propose toute une gamme d'activités en pleine nature sur plus de 70 hectares. Le train des deux vallées (locomotives...